New Jersey Assault Lawyer
Aggressive and Experienced New Jersey Assault Lawyer Representing Clients Charged with Assault In Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County, and Throughout NJ
Assault is amongst the most common types of criminal charges New Jersey courts deal with. This is because it can happen simply as a result of an argument becoming heated very quickly. However, while assault is common, the penalties of a conviction are quite serious. A conviction can also have a damaging effect on your life that will be felt for the long term. It is important to have an aggressive and experienced New Jersey assault lawyer fighting in your corner.
If you’ve been charged with assault, contact Mollo Law Firm. Our attorney is experienced in representing people charged with assault. He will use his experience and extensive knowledge of the law and the New Jersey legal system to defend your rights. Attorney Al Mollo will work tirelessly to ensure the best outcome in your case.
Contact us now to schedule your appointment.
An Experienced New Jersey Assault Lawyer from Mollo Law Firm Will Protect Your Rights When Charged with Assault
New Jersey law classifies assault as either:
- Simple assault – simple assault is defined as any offensive or unwanted physical contact. A person can be charged with assault if they attempt to cause bodily injury to another person either recklessly or on purpose and cause injury to the person. You can also be charged with simple assault if you threaten another with bodily injury using physical menace such as threatening to shoot them by pointing a gun at them.
- Aggravated assault – aggravated assault is assault that results in serious injuries or in which a weapon is used. A simple assault may be considered an aggravated assault when it is directed at a police officer, school teacher, fireman, and other professionals. A simple assault may also be elevated to aggravated assault if it is against a family member.
The court uses various factors to determine whether you should be charged with aggravated assault or simple assault. These include the severity of the injuries, whether a weapon was involved and whether the act was intentional or not. Aggravated assaults are further classified by the degree of their severity. They are classified from second to fourth-degree assaults. The penalties for an aggravated assault charge will depend on the classification of your offense.
Fourth degree aggravated assault
This is the lower end of possible aggravated assault charges. The penalties for fourth-degree aggravated assault include up to 18 months of imprisonment and fines if not more than $18,000.
Third-degree aggravated assault
The penalties for a third-degree assault include up to 5 years of imprisonment and up to $15,000 in fines.
Second degree aggravated assault
This is the most serious kind of aggravated assault charge. It is given when a person causes serious injuries or is resisting arrest. Penalties for aggravated assault include 5 to 10 years of imprisonment as well as fines of up to $150,000.
Penalties for juveniles facing aggravated assault charges in New Jersey differ as follows:
- Fourth-degree aggravated assault for juveniles is punishable by a sentence of up to 1 year in a juvenile facility.
- Third-degree aggravated assault penalties include up to 2 years in a juvenile detention facility
- Second-degree aggravated assault charges can result in a sentence of up to 3 years of juvenile detention.
Lawyer Al Mollo has represented people accused of aggravated assault in a wide range of cases. He has successfully represented clients in cases involving but not limited to:
- Simple assault
- Terroristic assault
- Aggravated assault
- Assault by auto
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault of a police officer
- Domestic assault and many more.
Attorney Al Mollo will work tirelessly to defend your rights. He will seek evidence to build a strong case on your behalf. He will seek to get your charges dropped or reduced. He will represent you in court to ensure your rights and best interests are considered throughout the case.
If you have been charged with assault, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Mollo Law Firm.
Contact Mollo Law Firm to Consult with an Experienced and Skilled New Jersey Assault Lawyer
Being charged with assault in New Jersey is a serious matter. A conviction can result in serious and long-term consequences. You should get the best legal defense you can get to ensure the best outcome in your case.
Contact Mollo Law Firm to consult with an experienced New Jersey assault lawyer. Lawyer Al Mollo will review your case and help you understand your rights and options. He will work quickly to protect your rights and interests. You can trust his experience and commitment to work to get the best possible outcome in your case. Get in touch with us now to schedule your appointment.
Frequently Asked Questions about Assault in New Jersey
Yes. There is a possibility of facing imprisonment for a simple assault charge. One of the possible punishments for a simple assault charge includes a jail term of up to six months. The punishment you receive will depend on the nature of the assault, your criminal past, and various other factors. An experienced attorney will advocate on your behalf and get the charges against you dropped or reduced. They can reduce your chances of being imprisoned for an assault conviction.
Yes. With the help of an experienced assault attorney, you can get the charges against you reduced or even dropped completely. The prosecution has the burden of proof in an assault case. They must prove that you committed the crime beyond a reasonable doubt. An experienced defense attorney can build a strong defense on your behalf. They will investigate your case and find evidence to poke holes in the case presented by the prosecution. They can show that the prosecution’s case is weak and their evidence circumstantial. This can help to get your charges dropped or reduced.