New Jersey Underage Drinking Lawyer
Experienced New Jersey Underage Drinking Lawyer Fighting to Protect Clients Charged with Underage Drinking In Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County, and Throughout NJ
21 is the legal age to consume alcohol in New Jersey. Anyone under this legal age caught drinking an alcoholic beverage will face criminal charges and consequences that go beyond this charge. While it may not seem like a big deal to your child, if they have been charged with underage drinking, a conviction could have a long-term impact on their lives. Not only will they face stiff punishment but may also have a criminal record that will affect their lives for the long term. Your child needs the help of an experienced New Jersey underage drinking lawyer.
New Jersey’s underage drinking laws are strict and clear about the consequences of minors being caught drinking alcoholic beverages. We at Mollo Law Firm have witnessed the far-reaching impacts of convictions for underage drinking firsthand. Attorney Al Mollo is dedicated to protecting the rights and future of clients charged with underage drinking in New Jersey. We will fight tirelessly to get the best outcome for your case. You can rely on the experience, knowledge, and skills of our attorney for the best legal representation.
Contact us now to schedule your appointment for a consultation and ensure your child is protected.
Underage Drinking Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey’s underage drinking laws are clear about what underage drinking is. According to the law, any person under the age of 21 cannot legally purchase, possess or consume alcoholic beverages. In New Jersey, if a minor is found purchasing, consuming, or in possession of an alcoholic beverage, they will be charged with a disorderly person’s offense.
The minor doesn’t have to consume the alcohol in order to be charged. Merely possessing alcohol is enough to be charged with underage drinking in New Jersey. Therefore if your child attends a party and there are alcoholic beverages available at the party, your child could be charged with underage drinking even if they did not partake in the alcoholic beverages.
It is important to seek legal representation from an experienced and skilled New Jersey underage drinking lawyer as soon as possible after your child has been charged. An experienced attorney will gather the evidence necessary to defend your child. They will fight to protect your child’s future.
Penalties for Underage Drinking in New Jersey
Your child may have only taken a swig of alcohol as part of a dare during a party or have simply attended a party where alcoholic beverages were available. These simple mistakes, however, will have a long-term impact on their lives if convicted of the crime. It is important to engage an experienced New Jersey underage drinking lawyer to fight on behalf of your child right from the start.
The penalties for underage drinking in New Jersey include:
- A jail term of up to six months
- Fines between $500 and $1000
- Suspension of their driver’s license. If they have not yet got their driver’s license, their driving privileges may be suspended for up to six months. The loss of driving privileges applies mostly if the underage drinking offense occurred in a motor vehicle
- Participation in alcohol treatment or education program. This is mandated by the court.
The consequences of underage drinking go far beyond the penalties and jail time. Being convicted of underage drinking will result in a permanent criminal record. The impact of this record will be felt in the long term. Your child’s criminal record will appear in background checks when they apply for jobs, scholarships, college entrance, and much more. It will even affect their ability to apply for a lease or mortgage in the future.
If your child has been charged with underage drinking, it is important that you engage an experienced attorney right away. Your attorney will review the case and determine the best strategy for defending your child. They will investigate the case and gather evidence to support your child’s case. They will work to get the charges dropped or reduced. Hiring an experienced attorney is your child’s best bet for a future free of the consequences of a criminal conviction.
Contact Mollo Law Firm to Speak with an Experienced New Jersey Underage Drinking Lawyer and Protect Your Child’s Rights
Is your child facing underage drinking charges? Whether they committed the crime or not, don’t hesitate to contact Mollo Law Firm. Schedule an appointment to speak with our experienced New Jersey underage drinking lawyer Al Mollo. Our lawyer is experienced in representing minors charged with crimes in New Jersey. He will not only fight to protect your child’s freedom but also protect their future.
Get in touch with us now to schedule an appointment for a consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions about Underage Drinking in New Jersey
It is not illegal for a minor to drive with alcohol in the vehicle if there is an adult present. Minors can also drive a vehicle with alcohol if they can show that they are only transporting the alcohol for education purposes or for work. If they do not meet the above criteria, it is illegal for a minor to drive a vehicle with an alcoholic beverage in it. Being in possession of alcohol with no reasonable excuse will result in an underage drinking charge.
This will depend on your child’s age. If your child has been charged with underage drinking and they are under 18 years of age, their case will be heard by a Family Court. These courts often focus more on rehabilitation when deciding the punishment. However, you will probably be fined at least $500 and your child may face some time in a juvenile center.
If your child is between 18 and 21, their case will be heard in criminal court. They may be sentenced to jail if convicted.