New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer
Knowledgeable New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer Helps Those Facing Reckless Driving Charges In Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlesex County, and Throughout NJ
Reckless Driving is considered one of the most serious traffic offenses in New Jersey. Charges often involve extremely dangerous conduct. For instance, Reckless Driving tickets are often issued in connection with DWI offenses and serious motor vehicle accidents.
The State must demonstrate three things to prove Reckless Driving:
1.) Defendant operated the motor vehicle.
2.) The operation was done heedlessly, with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others.
3.) This reckless conduct either endangered or was likely to endanger person or property.
New Jersey’s Reckless Driving statute, N.J.S. 39:4-96, provides:
“A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both.
On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.”
A conviction of Reckless Driving presents very significant penalties, including fines, court costs, motor vehicle points, increased insurance premiums and, most serious, jail.
As a result of these very serious potential consequences, if you are charged with Reckless Driving it is critical that you consult and experienced New Jersey Reckless Driving lawyer. An experienced attorney will assess the State’s case against you and pursue specific defenses to obtain a favorable resolution.
This law firm has represented hundreds of defendants charged with offenses of this nature and we would be pleased to offer a free consultation to discuss your case.