Mollo Firm Logo
(732) 607-5710
(732) 607-5710

New Jersey DWI Penalties

If you are charged with a New Jersey DWI or DUI offense, it is imperative that you understand the potential penalties associated with these charges.

First Offense (.08-.09 BAC)

Suspension
Fines,  Fees & Surcharges
Prison  Term
IDRC
Interlock
Community Service
3  months $250–$400  fine   $230 IDRC fee $100 Drunk Driving Fund $100 AERF $1,000/yr Surcharge (3 years) $75 Neighborhood Fund 0- 30 Days 12-48 Hrs

 

First Offense (.1BAC or Higher)

Suspension
Fines,  Fees & Surcharges
Prison  Term
IDRC
Interlock
Community Service
7-12  months $300–$500 fine               $230 IDRC fee             $100 Drunk Driving Fund             $100 AERF             $1,000/yr Surcharge (3 years)           $75 Neighborhood Fund 0- 30 Days 12-48 Hrs BAC .15+:During  course of suspension,   6-12  months after

Second Offense

Suspension
Fines,  Fees & Surcharges
Prison  Term
IDRC
Interlock
Community Service
2 Years $500–$1,000 fine               $230 IDRC fee             $100 Drunk Driving Fund             $100 AERF             $1,500/yr Surcharge (3 years)             $75 Neighborhood Fund 2- 90 Days 12-48 Hrs During  course of suspension,  1-3 years after 30 Days

 

Third & Subsequent Offense

Suspension
Fines,  Fees & Surcharges
Prison  Term
IDRC
Interlock
Community Service
10 Years $1,000 fine               $280 IDRC fee             $100 Drunk Driving Fund             $100 AERF             $1,500/yr Surcharge (3 years)           $75 Neighborhood Fund 180 Days 12-48 Hrs During  course of suspension,   1-3 years after 90 Days

 

If you or someone you know is charged with DWI or DUI in New Jersey, please contact our office for a free and confidential consultation.  You can reach us directly at (732) 747-1844.  Thank you.